Davis High School Community Council Minutes

September 6, 2017, 6:30 a.m.

Attendees: Greg Wilkey, Bradley Chapple, Corine Barney, LeeAnn Hyer, Alan Porter, Dianna Barton, Kim Humpherys, Gregg Laub, Hilary Pennock, Dorothy Watkins, Shanna Barker, Tyson Smith, Julie Taylor, Lance Thaxton, LeAnn Wood, Andrew Thaxton, Caden Karras, Tom Mi, Luke Bowers.

Dianna Barton welcomed the Council. Minutes from the August 16th meeting were approved. Shanna Barker was elected as Assistant Chairperson, and Lance Thaxton as Secretary. Council members were asked to complete member training.

Mr. Wilkey reported that last year's budget expenditures totaled \$259,900 last year. This year's expected budget with carryover funds from last year is \$261,616.47. He also shared with the Council that the Kaysville City Manager, Shane Scott, would like to establish a committee to improve communications between the city and schools within the city boundaries. He asked for a member from each school community council to participate. Julie Taylor volunteered to be part of the committee.

Andrew Thaxton (Student Body President) reported that the Davis High theme this year is Be Bold with Brown and Gold. The student officers are trying to get students involved in clubs and school activities. Last week they held a successful club rush week, and plan to hold another rush week in October. Homecoming Week is October 2-7. He identified one of the challenges that the student body faces is finding a place to fit in. Caden Karras (Senior Class President), Tom Mi (Junior Class President), and Luke Bowers (Sophomore Class President) stated that the strengths of Davis High include academics, sports teams, and the community support.

Mr. Wilkey identified two new school goals: improve ACT scores and increase use of Canvas.

Mr. Chapple reviewed the prior year's status report and this year's school goals:

- 1. ACT/SAGE testing improvements;
- 2. Maintain whole school graduation rate while increasing subgroup graduation rate;
- 3. Professional development;
- 4. Student academic needs; and
- 5. Meet emotional/psychological student needs.

For each of the above goals, the following Council members will be part of focus groups:

- 1. ACT/SAGE testing (Gregg Laub (lead), Brad Chapple, Shanna Barker, and LeAnn Wood);
- 2. Graduation rate (Shanna Barker (lead), Greg Wilkey, Alan Porter, Kim Humpherys);
- 3. Professional development (Tyson Smith (lead), Greg Wilkey, Bradley Chapple, Greg Laub);
- 4. Academic needs (Dorothy Watkins (lead) Dianna Barton, Lance Thaxton, LeAnn Wood);
- 5. Emotional/psychological needs (Kim Humpherys (lead), Dianna Barton, Julie Taylor, Alan Porter).

Bradley Chapple requested \$2700 to pay for professional development at the DSD Summer Institute-Teacher2Teacher Conference. The request was unanimously approved with Gregg Laub motioning to approve, and Lance Thaxton seconding the motion.

The next meeting on September 13, 2017 at 6:30 a.m. will focus on the proposed school boundary.

Shanna Barker motioned to adjourn the meeting, and Gregg Laub seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned.

September 13, 2017, 6:30 a.m.

Attendees: Greg Wilkey, Bradley Chapple, Ryan Wilco, Corine Barney, LeeAnn Hyer, Alan Porter, Dianna Barton, Kim Humpherys, Gregg Laub, Hilary Pennock, Dorothy Watkins, Shanna Barker, Julie Taylor, Lance Thaxton, LeAnn Wood, Kalvin Stinger.

Dianna Barton welcomed everyone, and moved to forego approving the September 6, 2017 Community Council minutes, and to combine them with September 13, 2017 minutes for approval at the October 4, 2017 meeting. Dorothy Watkins seconded the motion.

Dianna Barton explained the role of the Community Council at it relates to the boundary study process. She also explained that only those who had previously requested to speak at this morning's meeting would be allowed to present.

The following area representatives, along with the neighborhoods they represent and assigned Community Council liaisons, presented information:

Area Representative	<u>Neighborhood</u>	CC Liaison
Paul Murphy	Whisperwood	Gregg Laub
Brian Bingham	Ramola St. Area	Kim Humpherys
Jim Wright	South of USU Area	Kim Humpherys
Darin Jacobs	Deseret Dr. Area	Dorothy Watkins
Jason Anderson	Polygon #14 Area	LeAnn Wood
Tenney Clawson	Mutton Hollow/Hwy 89	Hilary Pennock
Renee Turner	North of USU Area	Julie Taylor

After the presentations, there was some discussion on how to prepare for the Boundary Study Committee meeting scheduled for September 18, 2017.

Lance Thaxton motioned to adjourn the meeting, and Shanna Barker seconded the motion. The meeting was adjourned.